First Blog

Okay, I’m new to this, so let’s not expect a Nobel-level post.  Frankly, I’m not even sure what to say here, or who might end up reading it.  Let’s just start with the basics.  I’m writing a blog (words I truly never expected to type) so I can interact with anyone who reads my book, The Backup Husband, and wishes to comment on it.  (I’d prefer lavish praise, of course, but I’ll take whatever I can get.  Just remember that you might be my first, so be gentle.)  And I also hope that all (most? a few? somebody? anybody?) who enter here will end up purchasing my next book, a thriller called Small Talk, which will be available in the Kindle Store sometime late in February.

That’s it for my first blog.  So how’d I do?  And thanks for reading.

About Robert Germaux

Both my parents were readers. I'm talking stacks-of-books-on-their-nightstands readers. So it's no surprise that an early age, I, too, became an avid reader. Everything from sports books (especially baseball) to Nancy Drew to the Hardy Boys to almost anything about distant and exotic places. And although I've always enjoyed putting words on paper, the writer in me didn't fully emerge until I retired after three decades of teaching high school English. I quickly wrote two books aimed at middle school readers, at which point my wife urged me to try a novel for adults. As is usually the case, Cynthia's idea was a good one. Over the next few years, I wrote several books about Pittsburgh private eye Jeremy Barnes, including "Hard Court." Along the way, I took a brief hiatus from the detective genre to write "The Backup Husband," the plot line of which came to me one day when I was playing the What-if game. On that particular day, the question that occurred to me was, What if a woman suddenly realized she might be in love with two wonderful men? After "The Backup Husband," I wrote "Small Talk," my first novel about Pittsburgh police detective Daniel Hayes. I then switched gears again with "Grammar Sex (and other stuff)," a book of humorous essays. Now I’m back with "One by One," the second Daniel Hayes mystery, which will be released on June 1st. In our spare time, Cynthia and I enjoy reading (of course), seeing Broadway plays and musicals, watching reruns of our favorite TV shows, such as "Sports Night" and "The Gilmore Girls," and traveling to some of those distant and exotic places I used to read about as a child. So far, we've been fortunate enough to walk in the sands of Waikiki, swim in the warm waters of the South Pacific and enjoy a romantic dinner in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Blog

  1. Amy Busch Bogart says:

    well…..I didn’t know you were published…gonna have to check that out!

    Like

  2. denisejoyc says:

    Great start on the blog and fantastic book. I really enjoyed the story and am looking forward to the next book.

    Like

    • Thanks, Denise, especially for the great review. That’s always helpful. I’ll be keeping my “followers” (another word I never thought I’d be typing) updated on the release of “Small Talk.” Meanwhile, have a great day!

      Like

  3. Bob Germaux says:

    I just realized that I said “Small Talk” would be available in late February, which clearly didn’t happen. I have the book ready to go, but I’m talking with some people about ways to generate some pre-publication buzz. It may be another two or three weeks before “Small Talk” is online at Amazon, but I’ll be sure to let everyone know when that happens. Meanwhile, thanks for reading and participating in this blog. I really do appreciate it!

    Like

  4. Bob Germaux says:

    Okay, so “Small Talk” is now available, and thanks to the fabulous Susan Barton, I’m going to have a “Small Talk” Book Blitz on April 10th. Information will be available soon. Keep checking the Giveaway section above.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

